Acide is the first cologne of Editions M.R. It is sxclusively available at our parisian store, 10bd des filles du calvaire Paris XI.

Mathieu: Hi Will, You are perfumer, canadian and parisian, what is your history?

Will: I was an arts student, trying to sell my paintings and publish my poems, with difficulty. I landed an internship at the lab of a prestigious fragrance house. That’s where I started composing my own perfumes. Afterwards, I established my own lab, and made bespoke perfumes for individuals. It was a natural next step to create a perfume for a brand.

Mathieu: Can you tell us what is the difference between an eau de cologne and a classic fragrance?

Will: The eau de cologne is a structure, a mix of citrus and aromatics, accompanied by light florals and woods. It’s designed to be fresh and fleeting, in contrast with heavier perfumes built to last. It’s also a matter of concentration; cologne is less concentrated than eau de parfum or extrait de parfum.

Mathieu: En perfumery as in fashion the starting point is always the matter. What is inside Acide? 

Will: Lemon! I chose a marvellous organic lemon oil from Sicily, that smells of lemon sorbet – icy, zesty, tart but smooth. To prolong the lemon and underline its signature, I used Lemonile, a powerful modern synthetic. Bitter orange notes of neroli and petitgrain add sparkle, while cognac oil provides boozy fruitiness. Valerian, with its smell of used sheets, gives atmosphere, à la vie d’hôtel. The light dry down is woody, herbal and salty, almost coastal.


Mathieu: Talking about bergamot or oak moss, they are matter, can you tell us who do we transform it into juice?

Will: Every material is treated differently. In the case of bergamot, the peel of the nearly ripe fruit is cold-pressed to extract the essential oil, exactly as it occurs in nature. Oakmoss goes through a more transformative process: it’s soaked in water, then extracted with hexane, a volatile solvent, to produce oakmoss concrete. The concrete undergoes an alcohol extraction, to remove the insoluble waxes, resulting in the absolute, a very concentrated and elegant product.

Mathieu: Afterwhile we have to mix all of it. For Acide you created the cologne in your own lab and you told me that we had to wait  fo r a while before we bottled it. How does it work?

Will: The fragrance concentrate has to sit for a month, known as maturation, when the different materials get to know each other and marry up. This gives volume and long-lastingness to the fragrance. The concentrate is then diluted in alcohol and water, stirred, and left for another month to macerate, before it’s filtered, bottled and ready to be worn.

Mathieu: And of course there is the formula... You told me that some fragrances are created through bases, can you explain us what does it mean?

Will: Bases are the perfumery equivalent of stock cubes, pre-prepared accords for the perfumer to integrate into his compositions, for the sake of convenience. I used two of my own bases in Acide: Sarriettal, a herbal complex resembling winter savory, and Cyclatone, a watery cyclamen accord. This allowed me to keep the formula simple and easy to control.

Mathieu: There is in the perfumery industry a certain secret surrouding the formula. One day you came at the office and gave me the formula hand written by yourself, I thank you so much by the way, it is really beautiful. Afterwhile you propose me that we publish it, this is what we do as it is in our store. Can you tell us what is the reason for that, beacause it is probably a first time in perfumery history?

Will: Traditionally, the formula is kept secret, to avoid the perfume being copied. This lack of transparency strikes me as detrimental to everyone involved: the perfumer, the brand and the customer. We’ve used large quantities of the best materials, so why not prove it to clients? Those seeking quality will respond favourably. Besides, with today’s analytical technology, the only way to protect oneself is to make a fragrance that’s too expensive for most to copy, which is exactly what I did.

Mathieu: The product is the key then? Because it can never be copied exactly? 

Will: I use very specific qualities of certain naturals, whose odour is determined by their terroir, cultivation extraction and, sometimes, age. My lavender oil comes from the foothills of the Alps, where it’s grown 1500 metres above sea level. My neroli is from Vallauris – the distiller makes less than one kilo per year. My patchouli has been aged for 35 years. For certain products, such as bergamot, I mix different batches to create my own quality, called a communelle. All of this would be impossible for my competitors to source or imitate.

Mathieu: But it is unstable too, which means it changes with time? 

Will: Quality perfume is like wine; over the years, it matures. Orientals and leathers improve, while colognes tend to suffer. This is because, with age, citrus notes fade, while woody, ambery and animalic notes increase. 

Mathieu: How do we properly conserve a fragrance then?

Will: Some people keep their perfumes in the fridge. Fragrance has three enemies: light, oxygen and heat. A sealed bottle stored in a cellar can keep for a century. But who waits that long to open a perfume?

Merci Will!

ACIDE IN THE PRESS

ACIDE IN GRAZIA! OCTOBER 2018

ACIDE IN LE TEMPS! OCTOBER 2018

ACIDE IN FUCKING YOUNG! OCTOBER 2018

Acide est notre première Eau de Cologne. Elle est disponible exclusivement à notre boutique au 10 boulevard des Filles du Calvaire, à Paris.

Mathieu: Hello Will, tu es nez, canadien et parisien, comment en es-tu arrivé là ? 

Will: J’étais étudiant en art, j’essayais de vendre mes peintures et publier mes poèmes mais avec difficulté. J’ai entamé un stage dans un laboratoire d’une prestigieuse maison de parfum et alors j’ai commencé à composer mes propres parfums. Après cela, j’ai créer mon propre laboratoire et je fais principalement des parfums sur mesure pour des particuliers. C’était évident que l’étape suivante soit de créer un parfum pour une marque.

Mathieu: Peux-tu nous dire ce qui fait la différence, en parfumerie, entre une eau de Cologne et un parfum classique ?

Will: L’eau de Cologne est par essence une structure composée d’agrumes et d’aromates accompagnés par des notes fleuries et boisées. La Cologne est fraiche et éphémère par opposition aux parfums plus lourds qui sont conçus pour durer. C’est aussi une question de concentration puisque l’eau de Cologne et l’eau de parfum sont moins concentrées que l’extrait de parfum.


Mathieu: En parfumerie comme dans la mode, le point de départ est toujours la matière. Qu’est-ce qu’il y a principalement dans Acide ? 

Will: Du citron! J’ai choisi une fabuleuse essence de citron biologique que je fais venir de Sicile et qui ressemble beaucoup au sorbet citron: glacé, vif, acide mais aussi lisse. Pour accompagner le citron j’ai utilisé du Lemonile, une matière de synthèse très puissante. Des notes d’orange amère comme le néroli et le petit-grain ajoutent un coté pétillant, en même temps que le lie de vin offre un aspect alcoolisé fruité. La valériane, avec son odeur de draps usés, donne de l’atmosphère à la vie d’hôtel. La note de fond est légère, boisée, herbacée et iodée.

Mathieu: Quand on parle de bergamote ou de mousse de chêne qui sont des matières solides, peux-tu nous dire comment on les transforme en jus ?

Will: Chaque matière se traite différemment. Dans le cas de la bergamote, le zeste du fruit à peine mûr est soumis à une expression à froid pour en extraire l’huile essentielle, exactement comme elle existe dans la nature. La mousse de chêne subît un procédé tout à fait différent: la mousse est trempée dans l’eau, avant d’être extraite par solvants volatiles puis par alcool, pour en obtenir l’absolue de mousse de chêne.

Mathieu: Il faut ensuite assembler tout ça. Pour Acide, tu as aussi fabriqué le jus, dans ton propre atelier, puis tu m’as dit que nous devions attendre un certain temps avant de le mettre en bouteille. Comment tout ça se déroule ?

Will: Le concentré de parfum doit reposer pendant un mois, il s’agit de maturation, le temps que les matières s’apprivoisent et s’assemblent. Cela donne du volume et permet au parfum de durer plus longtemps. Le concentré est dilué dans de l’alcool et de l’eau, mélangé, et macère pendant un mois, avant d’être filtré et mis et bouteille, prêt à être porté.

Mathieu: Et bien sûr, il y a la formule... Tu me disais que certains parfums se formulent à partir de bases, peux-tu nous expliquer de quoi il s’agit ?

Will: En parfumerie les bases sont l’équivalent du bouillon cube, des accords pré-composés pour que le parfumeur les intègre dans ses créations, pour plus de commodité. J’ai utilisé deux de mes propres bases dans Acide: le Sarriettal, une base herbacée à l’odeur de la sarriette, et le Cyclatone, un accord de cyclamen aqueux. Cela m’a permis de garder la formule simple et plus facile à contrôler.

Mathieu: Il y a dans l’industrie du parfum un certain secret qui entoure la formule. Pourtant un jour tu es venu me la déposer au bureau, écrite de ta main - je t’en remercie d’ailleurs elle est très belle. Puis tu m’as proposé que nous la rendions accessible à tous, ce que nous faisons avec plaisir. Peux-tu nous dire ce qui a motivé cette démarche, probablement une première en parfumerie ?

Will: Traditionnellement les formules sont en effet gardées secrètes pour éviter la copie. Ce manque de transparence me semble négatif pour tout le monde: le parfumeur, la marque et le consommateur. Nous avons utilisé de grandes quantités des meilleurs matières, alors pourquoi ne pas le dire au client? Cette recherche de la qualité doit se voir. De plus, pour se préserver de la copie la seule manière est de créer un parfum trop cher à reproduire et c’est ce que nous avons fait.

Mathieu: C’est donc aussi la matière qui protège, par ce qu’elle n’est jamais complètement falsifiable. 

Will: J’ai utilisé des qualités très spécifiques de matières naturelles dont l’odeur est déterminée par leur origine géographique, leur culture, leur extraction et parfois leur âge. Mon essence de lavande provient des Alpes, où la plante pousse à 1500 mètre d’altitude. Mon néroli est de Vallauris et le distillateur en produit moins d’un kilo par an. Mon patchouli a 35 ans d’âge. Pour certains produits comme la bergamote, je mélange plusieurs lots pour créer ma propre qualité, ce que l’on appelle une communelle. Ce sont tous ces aspects qui seront impossibles à reproduire pour quiconque souhaiterait le copier.


Mathieu: Mais elle est aussi instable, c’est à dire qu’elle évolue avec le temps ?

Will: Le parfum est comme le vin, au fil des ans il mature. Les parfums orientaux et cuirés s’améliorent alors que les Colognes ont tendance à souffrir. C’est parce que, avec l’âge, les notes hespéridées s’atténuent alors que celles boisées, ambrées et animales s’amplifient.

Mathieu: Du coup, comment fait-on pour conserver correctement un parfum ?

Will: Certains conservent leurs parfums au frigidaire. Le parfum a trois ennemis: la lumière, l’oxygène et la chaleur. Un flacon scellé, gardé dans une cave, peut se conserver un siècle. Mais qui attend aussi longtemps pour ouvrir son parfum?

Merci Will!

ACIDE IN THE PRESS

ACIDE IN GRAZIA! OCTOBER 2018

ACIDE IN LE TEMPS! OCTOBER 2018

ACIDE IN FUCKING YOUNG! OCTOBER 2018