“The fantasy of a rugged man, bordering occasionally on the edge of casual”

Behind Éditions MR is the idea; one might even say the fantasy of a rugged man, bordering occasionally on the edge of casual. His clothes are his pals, his traveling companions. They are made of fine material asking to be just ever so roughed up and thread-worn. They are clothes that live fully and take their hits on the chin. Wherever he goes, the Éditions MR man goes through life draped with the carefree attitude of a morning-after-a-night-before, where the smell of cognac and tobacco lingers. 

"It is Éditions MR because to edit a piece is to go back to its essentials "

Founded by Mathieu de Ménonville, Éditions MR first opened in his apartment. Friends flock to the flat-boutique to admire his creations, often with drinks in hand. As word spreads, clients soon begin to crash the party, and a year later, the first boutique opens in the Haut-Marais. It is there where made-to-measure suit tailoring joins the label’s ready-to-wear line. 

It is Éditions MR because to edit a piece is to go back to its essentials Each piece imagined corresponds to a desire, to a function, to a moment in time, be it unique or banal. Everything has a meaning, all is meticulously thought out. This wardrobe is inspired by Parisian life, the history of menswear, culture, and family memories, opening up a dialogue with a community of people of eclectic tastes as capable of appreciating a fine coat as they are a good book or a premiere in Saint-Germain-des-Près. 

"Each piece imagined corresponds to a desire"

In September 2015, Éditions MR launched an online platform to bring together it’s founder’s favorite works and products, books, collaborations, old photographs, and interviews filmed in the Hotel Louisiane’s room 42, knitting together the patchwork of individual inspirations that serve to catalyze the interactions between culture and fashion vital to the creation of any compelling collection.

“le fantasme d’un homme à l’allure légèrement déglinguée,  frôlant parfois la nonchalance”

Derrière Éditions MR, il y a l’idée, peut-être même le fantasme d’un homme à l’allure légèrement déglinguée, frôlant parfois la nonchalance. Les vêtements sont ses compagnons de route, des pièces faites de belles matières, portées sans manières qui ne demandent qu’à être un brin maltraitées, usées. Des vêtements qui vivent, qui encaissent les coups sans broncher. Cet homme Éditions MR traverse le temps, bien sapé où qu’il aille imprégné de l’insouciance d’un lendemain de fête aux arômes de cognac et tabac. 

“Éditions MR parce qu’éditer revient à sélectionner l’essentiel”

Créé par Mathieu de Ménonville, Éditions MR nait dans son appartement - devenu apartment store de la rue du Bouloi , à deux pas du Palais Royal, où les amis viennent admirer les vêtements, souvent un verre à la main. Puis, le bouche à oreille fait son affaire et des clients se joignent à la fête. L’année suivante, une première boutique voit le jour dans le Haut-Marais où s’ajoutent aux collections de prêt-à-porter une ligne de costume demi-mesure confectionnée en France. 

Éditions MR parce qu’éditer revient à sélectionner l’essentiel. Chaque pièce imaginée correspond à un désir, une fonction, un moment de vie qu’il soit banal ou singulier. Tout a un sens, tout est soumis à un processus de réflexion méticuleux. Le vestiaire est inspiré de la vie parisienne, de l’histoire du vêtement masculin, de la culture, des voyages, des souvenirs familiaux, et instaure un dialogue avec une communauté aux goûts éclectiques capable d’apprécier un beau manteau autant qu’un livre ou une avant-première à Saint-Germain-des-Prés. 

“ Chaque pièce imaginée correspond à un désir”

En septembre 2015, Éditions MR lance une plateforme en ligne qui réunit les coups de coeur et inspirations de son fondateur, sélection de livre, de collaboration, images d’archives et entretiens filmés dans la chambre 42 de l’hôtel Louisiane à Paris. Un patchwork d’inspirations qui active ces interactions entre mode et culture vitales pour créer des collections attirantes.