"Lords of the dorms"

Mathieu de Ménonville and Louis Wong present « Lords of the Dorms » for the 2020 Sping/Summer collection. It was inspired by the Ivy League’s aesthetic – the style of American campus and the universe of fraternity. 

The movie « Dead Poet Society » by Peter Weir is used as the main reference. The collection takes its roots from the private school uniforms : stripped pants, sport shorts with elastic waist and club stripes, nautic jackets and light parkas. We also find some references from the world of fraternities in the use of Greek letters : the Sigma evokes the E from Editions M.R. It is used on our sweats and tee-shorts using silkscreen printing.

The summery atmosphere and the american youth from the 80s portrayed by the photograph Tina Barney play an important role in the collection. They inspire neutral colors, light pink, cream and an assortment that includes short sleeve shirts with an oversized cut that are either plain or covered with large and thin retro stripes from the seventies. Shirts printed with traditional, cashmere patterns and nodes, cargo shorts with pockets and light sweater in jacquard knit or striped round up this style borrowed from the good American society.

We also have created new logos inspired from the old Parisian publishing houses and the calligraphied signs found in front of French bistrots.

These references enrich the French and classic silhouette from Editions M.R : linen pleaded high waisted pants worn with ample jackets, the light, dark and stripped traditional seersucker, the bright velvet and houndstooth pattern shirts. 

You might like

    383€ -50% 192€
    Soon available

    The Nautique jacket is a sailor jacket crafted from an English fabric. The back of the press-stud flap is lined with a tartan-printed cotton fabric (traditional Scottish pattern) which will not show when the coat is closed. The jacket has a straight fit.

    383€ -50% 192€
    Reduced price!
    208€ -50% In Stock 104€

    The Portobello sweater is a two-ply Italian yarn sweater with a crew neck (the yarn is created spinning two different colour strands together, here ochre and off-white). It is knitted in jersey stitch with a cotton and nylon-blend yarn which gives the sweater density and a nice thickness. It has a straight fit.

    208€ -50% 104€
    Reduced price!
    Sizes XS S MLXLXXL
    158€ -50% Out of stock 79€
    Sold out

    The Regis overshirt has a loose fit, a dropped shoulder line and a Cuban collar. It is crafted from a tick flannel with a traditional Scottish tartan print.

    158€ -50% 79€
    Reduced price!
    154€ -50% Product available with different options 77€

    The Eric shirt is a short-sleeved shirt crafted from an Italian cotton and lyocell blend (lyocell is an environmentally friendly material made from wood, making the fabric particularly durable and slightly elastic). It has a straight fit.

    154€ -50% 77€
    Reduced price!
    Sizes3637383940414243
    450€ -50% In Stock 225€

    The Factory parka is an ultra-light parka crafted from a waterproof technical Italian fabric inspired by nautical style. It sports two drawstring ties made out of the same fabric at the hood and bottom. The collar is made of white corduroy. It has a loose fit.

    450€ -50% 225€
    Reduced price!
    Sizes4446485052
    200€ -50% Out of stock 100€
    Sold out

    The Achille overshirt is crafted from a technical windproof fabric with a nautical knot print. It has a straight fit, a slightly dropped shoulder line and a chest pocket. It doubles up as a light summer jacket.

    200€ -50% 100€
    Reduced price!
    154€ -50% Product available with different options 77€

    The Pantheon shirt mixes two types of fabric: a seersucker cotton for the front and a white poplin for the sleeves, back and collar. It has an elegant look, a loose fit and a dropped shoulder line.

    154€ -50% 77€
    Reduced price!
    Sizes3637383940414243
    158€ -50% In Stock 79€

    The Sigma sweatshirt is inspired by American university fraternities. The Sigma letter matches the initials E & M of Éditions MR. The sweatshirt is crafted from heather grey cotton jersey fabric. The Sigma letter is an appliqué crafted from two fabrics, juxtaposed and sewn onto the sweatshirt with a zigzag stitch in the purest American fraternity tradition.

    158€ -50% 79€
    Reduced price!
    Sizes XS S MLXLXXL

"Lords of the dorms"

Mathieu de Ménonville et Louis Wong présentent la collection « Lords of the Dorms » pour la saison Printemps-Été 2020. Elle est inspirée par l’esthétique Ivy League, le style des campus américains et l’univers des fraternités.

C’est le film « le Cercle des poètes disparus » de Peter Weir qui sert de référence principale. La collection reprend les codes des uniformes des écoles privées : les pantalons rayés, les shorts de sport élastiqués en rayure cravate, les blousons nautiques et les parkas légères. On retrouve aussi les codes des fraternités et leur utilisation des lettres grecques : la lettre Sigma évoque le E d’Éditions MR. Elle est utilisée en patch sur les sweatshirts et en sérigraphie de T-shirt.

L’atmosphère estivale et la jeunesse américaine des années 80 dépeinte par la photographe Tina Barney jouent aussi un rôle important dans cette collection. Elles inspirent une palette de couleurs sourdes, rose pâle et crème et un vestiaire qui comporte des chemises manches courtes amples unies ou à rayures retro seventies larges et fines. Des chemises imprimées de motifs traditionnels, motifs cachemire et nœuds, des shorts cargo à poches et des pulls légers en jacquard ou à rayures complètent ce style emprunté à la bonne société américaine.

Nous avons aussi créé de nouveaux logos inspirés des anciennes maisons d’éditions et des enseignes calligraphiées des bistrots parisiens.

Ces références enrichissent la silhouette française et classique d’Éditions MR : des pantalons taille-haute en lin à plis accompagnés d’une veste ample, le seersucker traditionnel clair, foncé et rayé, le velours clair et les chemises à motif pied de poule.

Vous pourriez aimer

    383€

    Notre veste Nautique est un blouson marin réalisé dans un tissu anglais. L'envers de la patte de boutonnage à pression est doublé d'un coton à motif tartan (motif traditionnel écossais), invisible une fois le manteau fermé. Le blouson a une coupe droite.

    383€
    Tailles4446485052
    Disponible 158€

    Notre surchemise Régis a un volume large, des épaules tombantes et un col cubain. Elle est fabriquée dans une flanelle compacte à motif traditionnel écossais tartan.

    158€
    Tailles4446485052
    Disponible 208€

    Notre pull Portobello est un col rond tricoté dans un fil italien mouliné (obtenu en enroulant deux fils de différentes couleurs, ici ocre et écru). Il est réalisé dans un point jersey avec un envers côtelé dans un mélange de coton et nylon qui permet une tenue ferme. Il a une coupe droite.

    208€
    Tailles XS S MLXLXXL
    Disponible 154€

    Notre chemise Eric est une chemise manche courte fabriquée dans un tissu italien en coton et lyocell (le lyocell est une matière écoresponsable issue du bois qui donne au tissu une grande résistance et une légère élasticité naturelle). Elle a une coupe droite.

    154€
    Tailles3637383940414243
    Disponible 450€

    Notre parka Factory est une parka ultra-légère fabriquée dans un tissu technique italien déperlant et d'inspiration nautique. Elle a deux cordons de serrage dans le même tissu autour de la capuche et en bas. Le col est en velours côtelé blanc. Elle a un volume large.

    450€
    Tailles4446485052
    Disponible 200€

    Notre surchemise Achille est fabriquée dans un tissu technique coupe vent à motifs de nœuds marins. Elle a une coupe droite, des épaules légèrement tombantes, une poche poitrine et deux fentes en bas. Elle a la fonction d'un blouson d'été léger.

    200€
    Tailles4446485052
    Disponible 154€

    Notre chemise Panthéon mélange deux tissus: un seersucker pour le devant du corps et une popeline blanche pour les manches, le dos et le col. Elle a une allure habillée, un volume large et des épaules tombantes.

    154€
    Tailles3637383940414243
    Disponible 158€

    Notre sweatshirt Sigma Frat est inspiré des fraternités universitaires américaines. La lettre Sigma évoque le "E" et le "M" d'Éditions MR. Le sweatshirt est fabriqué dans un jersey de coton en gris chiné. La lettre Sigma est faite par une juxtaposition de deux tissus appliqués en point zig-zag selon la tradition des sweatshirts authentiques de fraternités...

    158€
    Tailles XS S MLXLXXL